64th Birkenhead Sea Scouts

Home | News | Resources | WebMail
Water Activities | Camps | St George's Day | Recycling Scheme
Sea Scouts | Leaders | Upkeep |
About the Scheme | Who's in it? | RN Inspection
Sailing | Kayaking | Pulling | Power
Terminology | Navigation Lights | Rules of the Road | Charts | Signalling | IALA System | Light Signals | Meteorology | Bosun's Call | Knots and Ropework
The Scout Promise & Law | Map & Compass


RN Recognition Scheme


About the scheme

At any one time, the Royal Navy recognises 101 Sea Scout groups out of a total of 405 as having reached the required level of excellence. 100 such troops are based around the UK with the 101st being based in Gibraltar. Each group is given a unit number from 1 to 101 (we are unit number 27).

[List of RN Recognised Sea Scout Groups]


Benefits of recognition

Those units included in the Royal Naval Recognition Scheme are authorised to fly a Defaced Red Ensign and Blue Burgee and wear the Admiralty Recognition Badge. Additionally some activities may be elligible for RN funding, such as, RYA training courses and the purchase of new boating equipment. Also, Royal Naval Recognised groups are welcomed aboard Royal Naval warships and bases.

The Royal Navy organises certain events only open to recognised groups. This is commonly known as the big 3 and includes:

  1. Sea Scout summer camp on board HMS Bristol
  2. Sea Scout soccer sixes competition at HMS Excellent
  3. Sea Scout swimming gala at HMS Raleigh


Maintaining standards

In order that we retain our RN status we must pass an inspection carried out by the RN staff officer Sea Scouts held every 18 months - two years. We are examined on our undertaking land based and water based activities as well as the strength of the group as a whole.

The requirements and procedures for gaining RN recognition can be found at ScoutbaseUK.

Site Map | Feedback | Contact Us |